Jump to Content
November 27, 2014
 
 
 
 
 

 

Reclamation Status

Generally all the campuses have completed the batch-load portion of the reclamation process for their holdings. Some are completing the final part of reclamation for the Shared Cataloging Program records, which involves inserting the OCLC #s into the campus copies of records. Some sets of records from vendors await successful negotiations between OCLC and the vendors for permission to load to WorldCat. The reclamation for NRLF has yet to be done, though individual depositing campus symbols are on those records.

Most campuses have varying amounts of problem records that require manual review to resolve before reclamation will be totally complete. Some campuses need to set up ongoing batchloads so that holding symbols are routinely added to records for newly-processed materials.

Campus SCP Records Non-SCP Records Vendor record sets Ongoing OCLC Symbol Update Setup Target Completion Date for SCP Last updated
UCB In Process Complete
?
?
Jan. 2010 5/26/11

Comments-
As of 5/26/11:
Extracted records look good. Waiting to hear back from OCLC on latest batches sent. Will have an ETA once records begin to be sent in bulk.

As of 5/12/11:
The UCB Library reclamation was completed in 2008. We are now working on catching up with OCLC updates from March 2009 (when we switched to Millennium) up to the present. These updates are mainly to cancel holdings for withdrawn material (since UCB does all cataloging directly on OCLC). This is an iterative process of submitting sample records to OCLC, getting their analysis and match rate, making changes, and repeating the process. It is not possible to give an ETA at this time as we never know the results of the analysis until we receive it from OCLC. However, we do feel we are getting closer and hope to have an update in a couple weeks.

As of January 2010:
For all Berkeley recs-

  • high level records  - Complete
  • low level records - In Process - these may not be completed so UCB is considered completed.
UCD In Process Complete
?
Complete 10/23/09 5/12/11

Comments-
As of 5/12/11:
Reclamation -

  1. Several hundred serial titles: replace brief bibs with fully cataloged OCLC MARC records. Completion target: Summer 2011
  2. Approximately one thousand government documents: replace brief bibs with fully cataloged OCLC MARC records. Completion target: Fall 2011
As of January 2010:
We are still working on a couple thousand unresolved records.

UCI Have 65 SCP monos and fewer than 200 SCP serials to resolve, 5/12/11 Complete In Process Complete 10/15/09 5/12/11

Comments-
As of 5/12/11:
From reclamation, we have less than 300 unresolved records left to do. We also have 65 SCP monos and fewer than 200 SCP serials to resolve.

As of January 2010:
Have a few thousand unresolved records.

UCLA Complete Complete In Process In Process 10/1/09 5/13/11

Comments-
As of 5/13/11:
UCLA has completed reclamation and has been keeping it current on a weekly basis for ‘CLU’ (UCLA) and ‘ZAS’ (SRLF).

A policy decision is needed on what symbol(s) should be associated with Shared Print program materials, so that we can get those done.

In terms of reconciliation of reclamation fallout, we are aware of about 30K serial records from each project (great degree of overlap presumed between CLU & ZAS) that did not match but are highly likely to turn up matching WorldCat records with title-by-title review. Before we can determine how much of the fallout needs human review, we are attempting to identify and peel off categories of records through reports that might be matched more quickly and with less effort.

As of January 2010:
Have approx 32K unresolved serials.

UCM Complete Complete In Process In Process 10/15/09 5/12/11

Comments-
As of 5/12/11:
UCM has completed reclamation reconciliation work. Holdings in OCLC are current.

As of January 2010:
EBL and MyiLibrary in process; ebrary and Credo next.

UCR In Process Complete In Process Complete 10/15/09 5/12/11

Comments-
As of 5/12/11:
UCR has completed reclamation. UCR sends updates at least once a month.

As of January 2010:
Have approx 3K unresolved serials mostly vendor records; SCP Serials in process, SCP Monographs Complete.

UCSB Complete Complete In Process Complete 10/15/09 5/14/11

Comments-
As of 5/14/11:
UCSB has completed reclamation and has finished work on the reclamation problem reports. We are current with our holdings in OCLC, and we send LHRs weekly for both print and electronic serials.

As of January 2010:
1368 ProQuest Digital Dissertations, 1542 CIS Hearings (microforms) from LexisNexis outstanding. UCSB's SRLF reclamation completed, as of 12/14/09.

UCSC Complete Complete Only vendor record set that we have not added to OCLC is from ABC-CLIO, 5/11/11 Complete 10/15/09 5/11/11

Comments-
As of 5/11/11:
UCSC has completed our reclamation reconciliation work. We have been setting our holdings in OCLC weekly (both additions and deletions) since reclamation. Only vendor record set that we have not added to OCLC is from ABC-CLIO.

As of January 2010:
Oxford Scholarship/ebrary done. ACLSHumanities/Gale/ABC-CLIO outstanding.

UCSD Complete Complete Complete Complete 10/15/09 5/13/11

Comments-
As of 5/13/11:
UCSD has completed reclamation and has finished work on the reclamation problem reports. We are current with our holdings in OCLC, and we send LHRs weekly for both print and electronic serials.

As of January 2010:
Cleanup is ongoing for SCP and UCSD, and we expect this to take a few months to complete.

UCSF Complete Complete
?
Complete 10/15/09 5/16/11

Comments-
As of 5/16/11:
From our reclamation files, UCSF has about 250 records not in OCLC. These are mostly brief records for journals in our archival collection. We are working on inventorying these titles and completing the cataloging so that holdings can be set. Otherwise all of our records had holdings set in OCLC and we’ve kept current since then with adding and deleting holdings as we acquire new materials or de-accession materials.

As of January 2010:
We are working on a handful of unresolved non-SCP reclamation records for monographs. We are cleaning up some of the SCP record loads and still need to remove some pre-existing e-access from merged print/electronic mono records.

NRLF
n/a
Pending
n/a
Pending
n/a
 
SRLF
n/a
Complete
n/a
In Process
n/a
5/13/11

Comments-
As of 5/13/11:
UCLA has completed reclamation and has been keeping it current on a weekly basis for ‘CLU’ (UCLA) and ‘ZAS’ (SRLF).

SCP           5/13/11

Comments-
As of 5/13/11:
SCP reclamation is complete, and the assumption is that campuses have locally loaded their SCP reclamation files. SCP does have some lingering reclamation clean-up projects ongoing, but these should not affect migration to NGM.

SCP LHR implementation is complete and SCP LHRs are routinely created/updated weekly.

As of January 2010:
SCP (from Nov '09 update): At this past Program for Cooperative Cataloging Program Policy Committee meeting, it was agreed that PCC implementation of the BIBCO Standard Record (BSR) would be set for Dec. 1st. SCP staff are reviewing the BSR and pending any major issues, plan on adopting the standard for SCP cataloging. We will consult with the SCP AC if any issues are identified.

With various UCSD/SCP reclamation database management projects completed at UCSD, SCP can begin doing actual reclamation record clean-ups. The campuses will start seeing the results of this record clean-up starting in a week or so, mostly involving monographs. Also to start showing up in a week or two are the first Chinese language monographs. These will be for the package Chinamaxx (i.e. SuperStar).

 

Last updated: December 14, 2012