a. UC’s eScholarship supports BioMed Central Journals

Under the auspices of the California Digital Library’s eScholarship program, the University of California has joined BioMed Central (BMC), an open access publisher, as an institutional member.  UC’s collaboration with BMC is consistent with eScholarship’s mission to facilitate and support faculty-led innovations in scholarly communication.  Scholars publishing in BMC journals are ensured widespread dissemination of their work while supporting open access to scholarly publishing.

BioMed Central is a publishing company committed to a policy of free access to the primary literature of scientific research.  (For a list of 80+ BioMed Central journals please see: http://www.biomedcentral.com/libraries/oajournals.asp.) BMC funds its publications by levying a processing charge of $500 for each article published and through secondary publications such as review journals that have access charges. UC’s institutional membership entitles researchers at UC campuses to a waiver of the article processing fee.  There are no subscription charges or registration barriers to access.  Journal articles are indexed, and thus linked via UC-eLinks, in PubMed, CrossRef, CAS, BIOSIS and ISI Web of Science.  They have been cataloged by Shared Cataloging and appear in the CDL Directory.

BioMed Central provides rapid peer review and publication of submitted articles.  Authors whose papers are published in a BioMed Central journal will retain the copyright of their work and are free to put their papers on a publicly accessible server if they wish.  BMC’s submission, review and publication process takes place online in a user-friendly web-based system.  A number of UC faculty have already published in BMC journals.

All campuses have identified liaisons to coordinate BMC publicity and activities on their campuses.  The liaisons are:
Isabel Stirling, Berkeley
Ruth Gustafson, Davis
Lorelei Tanji, Irvine
Barbara Schader, Los Angeles
Donald Barclay, Merced
Diana Lane, Riverside
Susan Starr, San Diego
Peggy Tahir, San Francisco
Annie Platoff, Santa Barbara
Catherine Soehner, Santa Cruz